Pages

Wednesday, 4 May 2016

My new life: Stay at home, work at home


Time for some real talk - working from home is amazing but is does come with some unique challenges, especially when juggling an energetic toddler. 

I often feel confused about how to describe my work situation. Yes, I work but only part-time and always from home. That means that I am still responsible for "keeping the home fires burning" and sometimes it is hard for people to understand that when I'm working I'm not available for mid-day walks or lunch dates... as much as I would love to!

Apparently there is a phrase to describe my situation - I'm a stay home, work at home mom. Confused? That's okay, I am too! I thought it might be helpful to share some insights on a "typical day". I'm nosy so I always love reading these posts.

6:00 AM: My alarm goes off and I head to the gym to take a HIIT class. It's an amazing workout that really challenges me. The only awkward part is when they have us skip... my pelvic floor muscles sure aren't what they used to be!

7:15 AM: Home and in total mommy mode. Chug coffee, feed Henry, feed Molly, shove a piece of avocado toast into my mouth, empty and load the dishwasher, sweep the floor, wipe the counters, make breakfast cookies....!

9:00 AM: Henry goes down for a nap and I answer emails, review my work for the day and do some invoicing for about 45 minutes. Then I frantically shower and get ready.

10:00 AM: Get Henry up and dressed and out the door!

10:30 - 11:30 AM: Music class with our friends!

11:45 AM: Lunchtime for both of us. I frantically make a salad, review emails and throw some food on Henry's tray. 

12:15 PM: Out the door for Henry's 12 month doctor's appointment and shots. It goes well except my peanut has grown 3 inches and gained zero weight so we have to go back next month.

1:30 PM: Back home and Henry goes down for a nap. Our nanny arrives and I race out the door to get some work done.

1:30 - 4:30 PM: Crank out emails, media pitches and updates like crazy.

4:45 - 6:00 PM: Back home with Henry! Play, feed Henry dinner, prep turkey burgers for adult dinner, put away the laundry (our nanny washes / folds everything!), read to Henry and practice walking

6:00 - 6:30 PM: Bath and bed routine

6:30 PM: Lights out for Henry

6:30 - 9:30 PM: As much work as possible! I usually bill 4 - 6 hours a day so I need this time to catch-up.

10:00 PM: SLEEP!

There you have it! My days are busy but I love them. I am so thrilled that I get to spend so much time with Henry while still doing what I love. Some days there is no balance and I'm on my iPhone ALL the time and my mom comes every day to help me but I'm trying my best to make it work. I am the first to admit that having some help makes a huge difference. I couldn't imagine doing it without assistance. So impressed with you stay at home, work at home moms who do it all on your own!

No comments:

Post a Comment